MAJOR BOGART SPEAKS: IMPORTANT UNIT NEWS

To the Washington County Militia,

The past six years have been by far the best when it comes to historic interpretation at Sycamore Shoals. That is because our unit, the Washington County NC Militia, has been committed to two things… rekindling old friendships with fellow reenactors and breathing new life into what had become a stagnated atmosphere in the living history feature of the park. Through this we have become an outstanding group of committed living historians.

This has been done, in large part, by the leadership of our Colonel, Bob McCroskey. Bob was the perfect choice to kick start the new unit back in 2009, and he has been a fantastic leader ever since. Bob has faced some difficult health issues over the past year or so and has not been able to be with us as much as he would like. Due to this, Bob has decided to step down as Colonel of the Militia. I know that you all join me in thanking Bob for the tremendous job he has done for us these past six years.

THANK YOU SIR FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART!

Bob’s resignation opened up the need for a new colonel and I wanted to let the membership know that I have been contacted by the Committee of Safety, and they have offered me the position.

After a lot of thought and prayer I have decided to accept the offer. I definitely do not plan to replace Bob, as no one could. I will, however, try to continue in Bob’s footsteps and lead our unit as best I can. I will need all the help I can get as I may be calling on many of you to assist in new and challenging ways. Any and all encouragement will be greatly welcomed and appreciated.

The change of command will take place at 2:30 on Sunday afternoon, this weekend during the muster event. Bob’s request is for as many as can make it to please attend the ceremony.

Again I want to personally thank Bob for all he has done for the unit, and I look forward to him being with us when he can. I also look forward to the future of the unit and to us all moving forward together.

Your Most Obedient Servant,

Major Chad Bogart

Chad A. Bogart

Historic Interpreter

Sycamore Shoals State Historic Area

1 Comment

Filed under 2015 MILITIA ACTIVITY, NEWS and NOTICES

One response to “MAJOR BOGART SPEAKS: IMPORTANT UNIT NEWS

  1. Thank you Chad and Bob for the great job you have done over the years. It was you, Bob, Ken, and Chris that re-sparked my interest in reenacting and for joining such a special group. Bob will surely be missed, but I hope he can come and attend some musters. I look forward to seeing everyone again soon. Doug Walsh

    Like

Leave a Reply

